This blog is about increasing customer lifetime value but first some background.
Background - What is web marketing ROI?
It is natural for companies to want to get more sales and reduce their marketing costs, especially when times are tough. Is it possible to achieve both objectives? From my experience, it is. But, just doing 'advertising' & 'marketing' activities is no guarantee of success. Some companies waste thousands (and even millions) of pounds being busy fools. Others get great results for relatively low spends. Marketing ROI (Return On Investment) is all about getting more for less.
This is one of a series of web marketing tips designed to improve Web Marketing Return On Investment (ROI). The tips are based on over 20 years experience of helping small companies as well as some of Britain's best brands to transform their Marketing ROI
The tips will cover areas like Pay Per Click advertising, email marketing, web metrics analysis, brand thought and KeyWords. This blog covers customer lifetime value.
What is customer lifetime value?
This is the calculated profit (or revenue) generated by a customer for as long as they continue to buy from that company. e.g. if your customer spends £1000 per transaction, 3 times a year over 3 years with a profit margin of 50%, then the customer lifetime value is £4,500.
If it cost £45 to acquire that customer originally, then their value to you was worth 100 times the acquisition cost which is a great return on your web marketing investment.
How can customer lifetime value strategies cost effectively deliver more sales?
Customer lifetime value strategies are designed to increase sales by getting more customers:-
- to spend more (per transaction)
- more often
- for longer (retention)
Does it work?
Yes. Having worked inside some of Britain's best brands, customer lifetime value strategies can significantly increase sales and more importantly value. It requires data analysis, insight and effective implementation of smart web marketing strategies. And the good news is that smaller companies can apply the same strategies to improve their sales too.
It is a crucial strategy if you want to achieve a great web marketing ROI.
How do you develop successful customer lifetime value strategies?
You need to commit time and some budget (but not a lot compared to the value delivered). For most smaller companies, time is a key issue.
Many companies (big and small) find they don't have the time or expertise to do this themselves to a high enough standard and use a customer lifetime value specialist.
Customer lifetime value strategies play a crucial role if you want to significantly improve your marketing ROI.
Take a look at some of my other customer lifetime value blogs:-
- Can you grow your business without marketing to new clients?
- 95% customer retention a good result?
- When did you last talk to a customer?
Peter Hawtin is an internet marketing specialist with Brand New Way, a UK web marketing agency which helps companies to attract and retain valuable customers online.